Skip to main content Skip to footer

Council Composition and Ward Boundary Review

The Municipality of North Perth has engaged Watson & Associates Economists Ltd. and Dr. Robert J. Williams to conduct a comprehensive and independent review of its Council composition and ward boundaries. This review is being undertaken to ensure an effective and equitable system of representation in advance of the 2026 municipal election. 

This review will be undertaken in two phases:

  • Phase one will focus on Council composition, which refers to the number of Councillors and the method of election (in ward or at-large).
  • Phase two will focus on a review of ward boundaries.

The attached map shows each of the three wards in North Perth: Elma, Listowel and Wallace.  If you are unsure of what ward you are in, you can use the interactive map. Type your address into the address bar on the top left hand side of the map.  

How well do you know North Perth?

Have your say on priorities for North Perth's Council composition and ward boundary review! 

Visit to ask questions and participate in engagement for this project. 

Watch the May 31st Virtual Public Information Session

At its meeting of July 10, 2023 Council received the Watson & Associates Economists Ltd. Council Composition & Ward Boundary Review Phase One Report and provided the following direction with respect to Phase Two of the review: 

  • the election of the Deputy Mayor at-large;
  • the election of the County Councillor at-large; and
  • the election of up to eight councillors in single-member wards.

Results from Phase Two of the review and final ward boundary options will be presented to Council at the November 20, 2023 meeting. 

Phase One Report to Council - July 10, 2023

Phase One Presentation to Council - July 10, 2023 

North Perth's Council composition and ward boundaries have not been reviewed since its current structure was established in 1999. 

The Municipality of North Perth is divided into three wards: Elma, Listowel and Wallace. North Perth Council is comprised of the Mayor, Deputy Mayor and eight ward Councillors. 


  • North Perth is divided into three wards (Elma, Listowel and Wallace)
  • The Mayor and Deputy Mayor are elected at-large and both serve on Perth County Council
  • Three Councillors are elected for Elma Ward
  • Three Councillors are elected for Listowel Ward
  • Two Councillors are elected for Wallace Ward
  • Council elects one of the ward Councillors to serve as the third Perth County Councillor representing North Perth

Sign up to our Newsletter

Stay up to date on the Municipality's activities, events, programs and operations by subscribing to our eNewsletters.

This website uses cookies to enhance usability and provide you with a more personal experience. By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.